Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How does an Aquastat circuit work?

Options
RichC901
RichC901 Member Posts: 9
My Aquastat 8148E 1257 will sometimes run the circulators but not the burner after receiving a call for temperature. Tapping on it or jiggling the wires gets it going again. This seems to be a common problem. I've pulled the board out and did not see any burned out solder connections, and made sure all contacts were clean and tight when put back in. Problem still happens.

I'd like to understand the circuit better so I can effectively troubleshoot it. I'm an electrical engineer who worked for many years as a chip designer. So far this is what I've established:

- Thermostat relay is shorting TV and T when calling for heat.
- C1 and C2 are receiving line voltage and running the circulators.
- B1 and B2 are not receiving voltage when problem occurs, but receive 24V when working.
- There is a vent damper connected via Molex plug. The damper is not open when the problem occurs.
- The system is Dunkirk natgas, hot water heat, 3 zone w/ Argo zone controller.

What I don't understand is what is happening between the thermostat and burner connections. Specifically:

- Is the big relay for switching the circulator only?
- What is switching the burner on and off? It seems like there is only one relay on the board.
- It looks like the high limit adjust is a variable capacitor. I'm guessing the temp probe is a thermistor. How do these components work together to shut off the burner at the high limit temp? Is it a voltage divider with comparator?
- Where is a good place to probe the input to the damper so I can eliminate it as the source of the problem?

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,505
    Options
    Toss it in the trash and get an electronic one...
    -or-