Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pumping Away versus manufacturers layout.

icy78
icy78 Member Posts: 404
Boiler manufacturer piping layout calls for expansion tank to be in the secondary loop, with pump pumping away from that. Dans way calls for ex tank to be in the primary loop. I just read Dan's pumping away book and am convinced. At our shop we have never done it that way and always have trouble, with air, fluctuating pressures, relief valves leaking. I am a tech for the co. and am trying to instill this new way. Any advice on how to deal with the issue of manufacturer layout compared to Dans way? I will try to post photo of manufacturer piping.

Comments

• icy78
    Sorry, haven't found a way to post photo using my phone. No clipboard on keyboard on this forum. .hmmm.
  • warno
    warno Member Posts: 229
    Tap the thing in the circle of attachment. Thats how to post thumbnail pics.
    icy78
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,786
    The main goal of primary/ secondary piping is to provide hydraulic separation between several, sometimes numerous circulators.

Many of the new boilers suggest you pump into the return side, so the expansion tank connected to an air purges on the boiler "supply out" piping no longer works for pumping away.

We also now have variable speed circulators, so the flow rates in both sides can be constantly changing.

Here is probably the best way to pipe modern P/S.

In this case all the circs are pumping away, and air removal is at the best, hottest part of the piping. The expansion tank could be connected anywhere on the large "blue" header pipe.

The key is to size that P/S piping large!