Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

replacing a condensing gas boiler with a conventional

Options
jimzab
jimzab Member Posts: 5
I've had my experience with a Peerless Pinnacle boiler. Was average for about 8 years but now have a bad combustion blower. A $900 part. So disgusted, I've heated my 2800 sq ft house with a wood pellet stove. This has worked out so great, Ive been doing it for 4 years and saved a ton of money. I need to replace the condensing boiler and would like to return to old school. I would like to trade all the bells and whistles for a more reliable boiler. I do not have a chimney and would like to stay away from a power vent. That leaves me with a few direct vent options. I'm leaning towards a Slant/Fin Victory direct vent unit that appears basic in design and also carries good reviews as well as there customer service. The piping I have was designed for a condensing, higher head pressure heat exchanger. This includes a primary/secondary loop. The primary loop has a big Taco 010 circulator. I have five zones on the secondary which includes DHW, each having Taco 007 circulators. The system worked great when ever the boiler wanted to stay running. I would like to get the opinion of a few experts about the design in place for a conventional boiler. The installer did a great job. (not around anymore). I do not want an heating installer to come in and start ripping it all apart because maybe he does not understand it. Also i'm thinking the Taco 010 circulator should come out and use what comes with the new boiler for the primary loop. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Jim

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,432
    Options
    I understand where you are at. You really need to find an installer who can look at your system and your needs to figure out what is best for you.