Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

When is it ok to let the equipment die?

RayWohlfarth
RayWohlfarth Member Posts: 1,461
For most of my career, I prided myself on resurrecting equipment other contractors have passed off as not worthy of repairs. As I am looking at the twilight of my career, I am beginning to rethink my philosophy about that. I'm a slow learner. It seems like the market has changed dramatically since I was an apprentice several decades ago. Now, it appears like every time I repair an older piece of equipment and something else malfunctions later, even a few years later, the owner is angry and feels like I should have replaced the unit. “You just worked on that unit.” I hear often. I now include the estimated life expectancy of the equipment with any repair quote.
Just curious if you are seeing this in the market.
Ray Wohlfarth
Boiler Lessons
Rich_49

Comments

• ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,592

For most of my career, I prided myself on resurrecting equipment other contractors have passed off as not worthy of repairs. As I am looking at the twilight of my career, I am beginning to rethink my philosophy about that. I'm a slow learner. It seems like the market has changed dramatically since I was an apprentice several decades ago. Now, it appears like every time I repair an older piece of equipment and something else malfunctions later, even a few years later, the owner is angry and feels like I should have replaced the unit. “You just worked on that unit.” I hear often. I now include the estimated life expectancy of the equipment with any repair quote.
    Just curious if you are seeing this in the market.