Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Modular steam boilers

Options
HeatingHelp
HeatingHelp Administrator Posts: 638
edited May 2016 in THE MAIN WALL
Modular steam boilers

Read the full story here

Comments

• Jazzerman
    Jazzerman Member Posts: 1
    Options
    Excellent article. Very good information and explanation of why certain piping details are important.
  • cgdelzell
    cgdelzell Member Posts: 22
    Options
    does this article apply to ounces twinned steam boilers? since they have a very low pressure.
  • vaporvac
    vaporvac Member Posts: 1,520
    Options
    That pic looks very familiar; I studied it long and hard when designing my system. @cgdelzell , I'm not a pro, but would say the same rules apply as my system is a twinned vapor vacuum. It is a gravity return with NO condensate tank, but only one equalizer for both boilers per Slantfin's instructions.
    Two-pipe Trane vaporvacuum system; 1466 edr
    Twinned, staged Slantfin TR50s piped into 4" header with Riello G400 burners; 240K lead, 200K lag Btus. Controlled by Taco Relay and Honeywell RTH6580WF
  • nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    Options
    I think JStar had success with the use of a Giford loop, and gravity return, as the means of preventing any excessive water level change in the off boiler. As a result, no electric valves were needed in supply or return.--NBC
  • SeanBeans
    SeanBeans Member Posts: 520
    Options
    Thanks for the added knowledge Dan!
  • RayWohlfarth
    RayWohlfarth Member Posts: 1,491
    Options