Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help With Two Pipe System

JSR
JSR Member Posts: 18
Last summer we purchased a two-story house in Zeeland, MI, not far from Grand Rapids, MI, with a two-pipe, natural gas steam system. We believe the house was built in the early 1920’s. I am a steam newbie, but I have been trying to educate myself on steam heat by reading Dan's books.

I posted last week asking if anyone knew a good steam contractor in the Grand Rapids, MI area. Steamhead and BobC replied suggesting I post pictures of the system for advice and help in identifying it.

I am following up on their good counsel. I have posted a few pictures of the boiler and the piping around the boiler.

In addition, here is what I have figured out about the system so far.

BOILER: The boiler is a Hydro Therm Model VGA 2505 that was manufactured in 1982. It has a McDonnell No. 67 low water cutoff. The net IBR Rating Steam is 144,800 btu/hr (Sq. ft. steam: 603).

I believe that the boiler has started leaking and needs to be replaced. I have been adding water to the system twice a day this winter and if I look under the boiler where the burners are I can see a slow drip. When the weather is warmer and the boiler isn’t firing as much, the drip causes dampness on the floor around the boiler.