Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New System...

Options
ben01
ben01 Member Posts: 28
Hello all.

I am in the planning stages of a full boiler replacement. My home was built in 1911 and is 3500 square foot above grade. The walls have been insulated with pour in place foam insulation and the entire roof line has been sprayed with 4" of closed cell foam, summer of 2015. Windows are original and will be replaced this summer. We have been here only this heating season.

Me, I am a Licensed Plumber in Illinois (Chicago burbs). Admiringly, I have very little experience with boilers. I will be replacing CI boiler from '66 and short cycles every fire. Most of the home has the existing Ci radiators which I will be keeping. The old gravity piping will be replaced with proper sized copper, in basement. Rooms such as family room and kitchen will be undergoing a renovation and I would like to use a underfloor heating system with supplemental base ray, depending on heat loss calculations.

Is anybody willing to point me in the right direction as far as products? I am strongly leaning toward a mod con but I'm worried about the low temps and the radiators.

Thanks in advance and any advice is appreciated!

Ben

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    Options
    You came to the right place Ben.

First thing you need is an accurate heat loss calculation. Plenty of free programs on line from reputable companies.

That will basically dictate everything else that happens from there. Pipe size, boiler size, pumps, expansion tanks, everything. If you'll be keeping the beautiful high mass radiators, I'd recommend you install non electric thermostatic radiator valves (TRV's).