Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How low should water level be in indicator before boiler automatically shuts down?

garimh
garimh Member Posts: 13
We moved into a new house last year that has an old steam boiler (not sure how old but it's an HB Smith G210). So, I'm fairly new to steam heat.

Last year I had a problem with leaking radiator vents, etc. which was forcing me to add water to boiler every few days. I thought I had all leaks accounted before this season started for but now with winter here and boiler running often, I find the water level indicator is dropping about an inch or two every few days.

Prior to reading of this site yesterday, I was blowing down until water runs clear after turning off boiler and allowing it to cool. I'm now reading that I should be doing it with boiler on to test low water cut off, which brings me to my question. How low should water in indicator be before the boiler shuts down? Because I had it down to about a half inch of water in glass and it was not turning off. I got a bit nervous at that point so shut if off manually, will let it cool, refill and turn back on but I'm wondering if I needed to keep going to properly test. If not, I'll have to have a pro come in to check it.

As for the refilling, all of my returns are above ground and I have no visible leaks. I'm wondering if perhaps there is a leak in boiler and will look for white smoke from chimney. Any other ideas? Or maybe the amount of water I'm putting is in normal for an old boiler?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,988
    The answer to how low can it go is... "it depends". On where the low water cut off is set, which varies. Can you either describe yours, or better post a picture of the boiler showing the sight glass and the low water cut off?