Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Bradford White Combination WH gone bad? Next move?

Hello all. First post here, but I've lurked a bit and I'm impressed with the helpful attitude around the site. Hoping for a little bit of insight on what to do with my situation.

Let me apologize in advance for any key details I'm leaving out. I'm new to this world and I probably won't capture everything in this first post. I'll backfill with whatever detail I need to help figure out my next move. I also apologize for any red herrings I'm throwing into the mix. I'm eager to learn.

I've got a 2002 (according to the SN) Bradford White Combination water heater. It's a 75 Gal, 76K BTU input natural gas water heater with an integrated heat exchanger that feeds a radiant in floor heating system. Model number is M2C75T10EN12.

Problem:
I believe that the heat exchanger coil has developed a leak and the potable water is now combined with the radiant heating loop. This seems to be somewhat common on these systems from that era according to a bit of googling.

How I got there:
I decided to check on the expansion tank and see what the air pressure was. Zero. Pretty sure that's not right. Turned off the main, opened a hot water tap at the utility sink and tried to pressurize the tank with a bike pump to something like 12 psi or so. Wouldn't take any pressure, like the Schrader valve was bad. Poked at the valve, the needle moves fine. OK, assume the expansion tank is dead....

Looked at the pressure on the gauge for the radiant zone, read 8psi. Made sense to me...

Closed the tap on the utility sink, opened the main and noticed the pressure gauge on the radiant system swing all the around off the scale on the top side... 60+ psi. Hmm. That doesn't seem right.