Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Domestic water heating for a restaurant

Options
andrewd33
andrewd33 Member Posts: 12
My family owns a medium sized restaurant/bar and my father recently passed leaving me in charge of the building. I am an HVAC contractor but do not do hot water or boilers in my company. I am looking for a good recommendation for this application and possibly a contractor to partner with. The plumbing co we normally use was recently sold and I am not sure I am getting the best advice. Currently there are two separate atmospherically vented water heaters in the basement vented thru the masonry chimney (approx 6x12 clay lined inside dimensions). The one is a 75 gallon 75,000 btu unit that delivers hot water to the pot and pans sinks and the low-temp cube type dishmachine. It is a residential model as the prior unit failed with the previous owner of the building 10 years ago on a Saturday and he didn't have a commercial unit available so he installed the resi with a disclaimer on the contract. Ironically it is still working 10 years later and the prior commercial same size and capacity (American Std) failed after 4 years). There is another 40 gallon unit that is about 4 years old that provides water to bathrooms and hand washing sinks via a mixing valve and untempered water to the low temp glass washing machine behind the bar. The specs on both ware washing machines show around 6gpm per machine and use approximately 1.5 gallons per cycle. Cycle times are approximately a minute and 30 seconds per batch.