Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

what's a pipe fitter?

GW
GW Member Posts: 4,795
I've been a plumber since the 80's, do lots of small residential systems. When does one need a pipe fitter license?

Thanks, Gary
Gary Wilson
Wilson Services, Inc
Northampton, MA
gary@wilsonph.com

Comments

• GW
    This is Massachusetts I asking about
    Gary Wilson
    Wilson Services, Inc
    Northampton, MA
    gary@wilsonph.com
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    Complexity of the work. Fitters usually deal with differing types of fluids, chemicals, and gases. Larger scale piping with more complex designs.

Don't now about Mass requirements but you start going commercial large scale, and industrial would seem the logical transitioning stage.
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited November 2015
    I would add usually there are fitter sub groups like a lot of trades.
    Gas fitters
    Steam fitters
    Sprinkler fitters.

Not to say that those fitters are limited to their knowledge beyond those groups, but some tend to specialize their personal scope.
    Paul S_3Zman
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    A few years back I was new to NM and looking to hire a number of journeymen for a commercial job. Reading the statute, I saw classifications for (among other things) both plumbers and pipefitters, but no definitions. Called the Mechanical Bureau to ask which was which and neither the bureau chief nor the chief inspector could answer it. They referred me to the head of the Mechanical Contractors Association. The best answer he could give me was, "your contractor will know." When I pressed him, he could not cite a written reference.
  • GW
    thanks, my basic question is more along the lines of 'how large of a boiler can a plumber and or an oil technician install'?

Thanks, Gary
    Gary Wilson