Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Remove/Replace Boiler and Hot Water Tank Help!

Options
ledzeplnrulz
ledzeplnrulz Member Posts: 12
Hello All,

Let me preface by saying I am a newbie to gas boilers and hot water tanks so I need some help.

Existing Conditions
Home in Warren, MI, USA
Built 1940
~1,100 sqft
Insulation/Windows not the greatest, use plastic on the windows in the winter
Current Setup (within closet space)
Baseboard Heating
Slant Fin 120,000 BTU Boiler - Water pump is seized , Consumers Energy tagged it dangerous
State 40 Gallon Water Heater - Still running!
I have attached some photos for clarity purposes.

I have received numerous quotes and I'm trying to figure out which combination would be the best.
Company 1 - Lochnivar Solution Boiler 90,000 BTU / State Hot Water Tank 40 Gal - Measured LF baseboard
Company 2 - Carrier Boiler / State Hot Water Tank 40 Gal - Measured LF baseboard
Company 3 - Lennox Boiler 100,000 / State Hot Water Tank 40 Gal - Did Not Measure baseboard
Company 4 - New Yorker Boiler / Bradford White Hot Water Tank 40 Gal - Measured LF baseboard
Company 5 - Lochnivar Solution Boiler / State Hot Water Tank 40 Gal - Measured LF baseboard
Company 6 - Lochnivar Solution Boiler 75,000 BTU / Lochnivar Hot Water Tank 40 Gal - Measured LF baseboard

Please note I am going with a standard efficiency boiler and 40 gallon hot water tank, basically remove what's there and replace it with new materials and up to code.

Not sure if I want to divulge the company names as they are listed from low-high if that helps any...

Any tips/comments/concerns/information is greatly appreciated. Let me know if you guys need additional information from me as well.

If you had to pick a boiler and hot water tank, what would you pick?

Comments

• Brewbeer
    Brewbeer Member Posts: 616
    Options