Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

vent pipe to chimney connection

Options
snugone
snugone Member Posts: 22
The area where the vent pipe for my oil fired boiler connects to and goes into the chimney needs some work. I have never worked on a chimney before and I want to do it the complete and proper way. This will probably be a spring project as I expect it will require enough downtime, and for this winter I'll probably slap on a superficial coat of cement, but so that I had a few months to think over the procedure I figured I'd turn to the forums now.

The boiler was installed squeezed up against the chimney, with only enough room for two 90's to get it into what looks to be an old 8-inch opening repurposed for the 6-inch vent pipe.

IMG_1815b.JPG
IMG_1816b.JPG
IMG_1817b.JPG

The cement is all broken and loose around where the 6-inch receiving collar was cemented into the 8-inch opening. The cement around the 8-inch section isn't too great either for that matter, as it has curled away from the cinder block.

IMG_1819.JPG

With the vent pipe removed, one can see beyond the short 6-inch collar into the expanse of 8-inch which continues and meets more or less with the 7-inch square clay liner.

IMG_1825.JPG
IMG_1820.JPG
IMG_1821.JPG

I only have a vague guess as to what should be done, but I was thinking that I could tear out the 6-inch collar and cement, and put in a 6-inch tube running the full length to the clay liner and then fill the void around it with something such as mineral wool. Then cement the start of the pipe back into place on the outside of the chimney. Also, I wonder if it's advisable or not to remove the 8-inch pipe or just leave that as is.

Comments

• Bob Bona_4
    Bob Bona_4 Member Posts: 2,083
    Options