Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Duct design

mburg
mburg Member Posts: 46
I am new to hvac and have found that I haven't found a good resource that discusses duct design. Can anyone give me a step by step process or point me in the right direction. Thanks.

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,367
    Are you asking how to size a duct system? If so, you can get a "ductulator" from almost any HVAC supply for about $5. Understanding how to use is a little more in depth. I would look in the online book store on this site for something. There are also programs and apps, but they don't tell you how they do it.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
  • Mike M
    Mike M Member Posts: 34
    Keep your eyes open from supply houses. They usually have classes for that. We have it in MA, I'm sure you do too! A typical two day seminar is likely or an all day Saturday. Usually $100-$175 but related classes to your job most. Employer are more than willing to pay for but may deny reimbursement if you score less than a B or go on a go no-go test that usually occurs with most instructors...
    Good luck
  • NJ, Designer
    NJ, Designer Member Posts: 53
    If you want to learn proper duct design for residential you have to read Manual D from ACCA.org, If you can read it and understand it you will be way ahead of the game, it is the only right way to go, they also have training DVD's on manual D presented by Jack Rise, he is one of the best Hvac trainers out there....
    Rich_49
  • Tinman
    Tinman Member Posts: 2,808
    @NJ, Designer ...spot on.
    Steve Minnich
  • mburg
    mburg Member Posts: 46