Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Ball Valves

Options
I'm seeking opinions on types of ball valves to use on steam lines to isolate F&T traps on either side for ease of servicing in the future. I was using Nibco two piece full port valves but was recommended by a colleague to use Apollo brand instead - although more expensive they are more trustworthy and have a longer life. Was looking for any comments regarding this. As a building manager I'm very concerning about future use working well as I will be making repairs. Im not a contractor who has to install materials based on budget of a homeowner but rather want what is best. Let me know your thoughts.

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,201
    Options
    Pretty much all of the valve manufacturers have good, better, best valve choices. L Most big names offer foreign or domestic. Look at the ratings on the valve first, then, thickness and weight of the valve and assembly details.

I prefer best quality with the adjustable packing nut under the handle, stainless, not brass ball, and good port dimensions, quality forgings and machine work, etc.

Cheap valves look and feel cheap regardless of the brand.

Personally I feel some of the best brass components come from Italy.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,578
    edited February 2015
    Options
    What about gate valves, instead of ball valves?--NBC
    Mad Dog_2JohnNYIntplm.
  • Mad Dog_2
    Mad Dog_2 Member Posts: 7,049
    Options