Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Split a single pipe radiator to two rooms

Options
jgem
jgem Member Posts: 3
I want to split a bedroom into two smaller bedrooms. Problem is there is a single pipe steam radiator. I'm wondering If it's possible to put two smaller radiators on the same single pipe? I'm thinking it can't be done but I'm no expert. I've attached two pictures to explain what I'd like to do. I think I can run a pex line and tap into the boiler but I'd rather not do that. Thanks for any insight!

Comments

• JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    edited January 2015
    Options
    Technically, it will work if the new radiators equal the same capacity as the old one. However, we always see this setup cause some type of problem. If it's your only option, go for it. If you can, though, I'd rather install a dedicated supply line to each radiator.

And never use PEX for steam. It must be black steel pipe and fittings.
    KC_Jones
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    Options
    I'm not sure I've ever seen a 2 way steam valve. You will have to find a way to tie into the riser and branch off of that and put a steam valve on each radiator and make sure the new piping and radiator have enough pitch to drain back to that riser.
  • jgem
    Options
    I like the steam heat but it tends to be limiting in an old house like mine. Thank you for the replies. I do think if I'm going to stick with the steam it's my only option. Both rooms will be small so an electric baseboard may be the way to go.
  • KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,737
    Options