Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

primary secondary question

ffp20
ffp20 Member Posts: 2
In a previous life i was a service technician for an oil company many years ago and now i find myself replacing a boiler in one of my homes.

The home is 1300 sq ft home currently using an oil fired boiler with cast iron radiators on a single zone.

I will be replacing with a gas fired cast iron boiler and will be splitting off 2 bedrooms to its own zone and adding an indirect water heater, so, there will be a total of 3 zone run off of the new boiler.

I read Dans book, "pumping away" and found it incredibly educating. I wish i had it 25 years ago as i found explanations for issues i had back in my service days.

Anyway, is there any reason i cant use zone valves fed by a single circulator on the secondary circuit instead of circulators on each zone?

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 21,975
    not sure you need primary/ secondary? Unless you want multiple temperatures or have pumping conflicts with high pressure drop heat exchanger type boiler.

I do like to see boiler return protection on high mass or large water content systems, it assures the boiler always reaches a good operating condition.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,363
    ffp20 said:

In a previous life i was a service technician for an oil company many years ago and now i find myself replacing a boiler in one of my homes.

The home is 1300 sq ft home currently using an oil fired boiler with cast iron radiators on a single zone.

I will be replacing with a gas fired cast iron boiler and will be splitting off 2 bedrooms to its own zone and adding an indirect water heater, so, there will be a total of 3 zone run off of the new boiler.