Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Vapor system questions

Options
culdog
culdog Member Posts: 3
Hi Folks this is my first post so please be gentle. I'm a plumber up in the Boston area about to help a friend with an old vapor system. I haven't done many steam boilers to begin with and never a vapor setup. Basically I'm tackling a quagmire.The house itself is a big old Colonial that HAD a 2 pipe vapor steam system, I say had because some radiators have the old ball and elbow elements (not sure exactly what the're called), and some have therm. traps. The boiler is an oil fired Weil McLean installed about 25 years ago, it has a pressuretrole that never reaches 1 lb. The whole system heats terribly. I guess some of my main questions are Can this system be converted to a modern gas fired 2 pipe steam using thermo. traps? My buddy is against installing forced HW because of so much remodelling involved.Any help will be greatly appreciated

Comments

• Joe V_2
    Joe V_2 Member Posts: 234
    edited May 2014
    Options
    Sure.

I did mine.  Look at it sysematically.  Some of the biggest offenders that cause terrible heating are:

Improper near boiler piping

Bad or inadequate Main venting

Bad or missing steam traps at radiators

Over sized boilers.

Lack of pipe inulation.

Vapor steam heating should be supreme to other forms of heating, quiet, efficient, and very comfortable. 
  • culdog
    Options
    Vapor system questions

Thanks Joe V. for the quick reply. Your near piping statement leads me to ask if using a drop header is ok here?
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,324
    Options
    Joe V

seems to have hit the high points.

Vapour systems do, however, benefit from intelligent contemplation, and a somewhat leisurely approach.