Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

HELP with new steam boiler

Options
joe7
joe7 Member Posts: 15
I’m relatively new to steam heat. (I’ve read some on this GREAT website…)

My 6 year old CROWN steam, oil powered boiler cracked and no longer works.  It’s 177,000BTU (input). The system is 1 pipe steam. (2 floor house 20x80, and (currently) unfinished basement. 3 family house)

I need to replace the boiler very soon, since we are still experiencing pretty cold weather :(

I’m thinking of replacing it with a GAS boiler (I have a gas line in boiler room).

I calculated the EDR of the radiators. I came up with: 472 (I erred on the generous side)

Several questions:

1)    Do I need to add any EDR for the piping?

2)    Someone told me that gas boilers give off less heat per BTU (compared with oil) and therefore if I currently have 177,000btu oil boiler, I should get at least 200,000btu gas.   Is there any merit to this?

3)    Bottom line: what size gas boiler should I get? 

4)    Does the boiler size have anything to do with the size of the house or EXCLUSIVELY the EDR of the radiators?

What brand boiler would you recommend:

a)    Green Mountain Boilers

b)    Williamson-Thermoflo

c)    Crown

Thank you very much in advance for your help and input.

Comments

• DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,529
    edited March 2014
    Options
    Some questions:

Are all your steam pipes insulated?

When you say "generous" what does that mean? How much have you already added to what's actually in the house?

A Btu is a Btu, whether it comes from burning oil or gas, so we look at the rating on the boiler.