Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

pressuretrol and vaporstat

Options
KC_Jones
KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,737
So I already know I am replacing my boiler over the spring/summer/fall time frame.  I am starting to get a list of parts together and anxiously awaiting the arrival of Dan's books (i went ahead and ordered the steamy deal last week)!  Anyway my brain has been on overtime between my system and reading this board.  I was thinking about something.  I am leaning towards adding a vaporstat (0-16oz) control on my new boiler and keeping the pressuretrol that comes with it as a backup.  It got me thinking about the wiring on this part of the system.  I am a novice so please feel free to poke holes in my idea.   I know from what I read on here that I should blow down the boiler yearly using isolation valves and a higher boiler pressure.  I also have noticed that I should try and tune my system to run as low a pressure as I think I can get away with.  So what I was thinking was wiring a 3-way selector switch into the pressure control circuit.  This would allow me to select either device or run both at the same time (primary and backup).  I could set the pressuretrol at a pressure to allow blowdown and use the vaporstat as my primary running device.  So when I want to blowdown all I have to do is turn the selector switch to blowdown and I am all set.  Oh and the way I would wire it at least one of the devices would always be active.  Does anybody have any thoughts on this idea?  I do like to tinker with things and that is probably why I thought about this.  Oh I wasn't sure if I should post this here or in the control portion of the wall so I started here.  If I should post this in the control part let me know and I can move it.  Thanks!
2014 Weil Mclain EG-40
EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Boiler Control