Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gorton Main Vent Survey

Options
Dave in QCA
Dave in QCA Member Posts: 1,787
I want to first say that I'm not one to stir things up because I enjoy creating conflict, because I don't. But, I've been stewing on something for a few years. I first thought it was unique to my system, but as time goes on, I'm not so sure.

HERE WE GO.....

We all know that the Gorton #2 main vent has the highest capacity of any main vent on the market (When it's cold). But the question I have is this. During the heating season, how many mains cool off enough allow the G2 to fully open, or to open at all?

Gerry Gill, who I have enormous respect for reports in his Youtube video, <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wl8vQ2MYhMs">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wl8vQ2MYhMs</a>

that the G2 will begin to close at 110F and will be fully closed around 130F. He warns that placement of the G2 in a boiler room that stays warm may affect its ability to operate properly.

It would seem to me that Gerry's advice is certainly correct. But, in addition to the ambient temperature in the space, the any main vent is going to be exposed to the temperature of the air that is inside the main. On mains that have no insulation, the cool down is going to be significant enough that the G2 will work just fine, I think. But what about mains that are fully insulated? How many folks have measured the temperature of their steam mains at the beginning of a cycle?