Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

combining two thermostat into one thermostat

Options
i have one pipe steam heating system. i need to wire(combine) two thermostat in to one. please show me how to wire it. please give me the detail since i have no experience or knowledge of it.. thanks i did wire thermostat before. but not the boiler end of wiring. i going to cut the first floor thermostat. and control both first and second floor. on the second floor thermostatt please help

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,373
    Options
    It's not that hard...

but I will proceed here in hopes that you know something about electrical work.  It is possible to do some considerable harm to the the thermostats, if not to the boiler controls, if you make mistakes.

First off.  It is much easier to do if the two thermostats are the same.  Just easier.  Second, and much more important, they should have been wired with the same colour codes.  So the first thing to do is to check and make sure that that is the case (note that if they are not the same, or if the colour codes are different, it doesn't make it impossible, just a little trickier -- and from the tenor of your question, I suspect it might be a tad too tricky).