Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

my gas bill as a gauge of system efficiency

Options
bradslees
bradslees Member Posts: 34
Not sure whether to put this here or in the gas forum, but here goes.

I'm new to homeownership and have been learning a lot and tinkering a little based on "The Lost Art..." and this site. My goal is to get a quiet, stable system that is running efficiently. Quiet and stable are pretty easy to observe (and I'm still working on it) but I'm realizing that efficiency is a bit harder to quantify. Towards that end, I was hoping maybe some of you could chime in on what a reasonable amount of gas would be to heat my ~2200 sq. ft home just outside of Boston. Gas-fired boiler in the finished basement, two levels above.

This month I used 203 therms (197 CCF?). In August I used 14 therms (though I wasn't living in the house full time yet at that point).

Comments

• jumper
    jumper Member Posts: 2,277
    Options
    depends on house

Modern windows? Weatherstripping? Insulation?
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Options
    The best metric to compare

Is BTUs per degree-day per square foot.  http://www.degreedays.net/ will let you download data from a personal weather station near you.  Get the daily data for several winter months, then break it up into monthly chunks to match your gas meter readings.  Add those up and do the math.

That number is indicative of the overall efficiency of your system (including the building envelope, the heating appliance, and the distribution and control systems.)
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited December 2013
    Options
    HDD. Per square foot

Like SWEI said.

Couple different ways to do it. But you need accurate information to plug in.