Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Shutting Off the Water / Leaving Oil Boiler On

Options
Good Evening.

Will premise this post by stating that while I am no expert i have sought professional advice (had a tech from my oil company come out) and have not gotten an answer to my question.

I have a 5 year old Weil McClain oil boiler in my home in my new home in New England. During the winter I travel for work- some times 2-3 weeks at a time.

Prior to leaving, I had shut my water main off and turned off my water pump (circuit breaker). I broke pressure in my domestic pipes using a drain system I have at a low point in my basement. I left my heat on 55 degrees. Checked my gauges (PSI at 16 and temp at 180) and they were at normal levels.

Fast forward two weeks. I return home and notice that my back flow (copper pipe) leaked a tremendous amount and my PSI gauge read 0.00. Called my service provider and was not able to get a clear answer.

Any explanation as to what I'm doing wrong OR what is wrong with my system would be appreciated.

Comments

• JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    Options
    Backflow

When the boiler operated, creating pressure, it sought out a point of lower pressure. It found that point in the, now drained and opened, water main. Next time, close the water feed valve to the boiler upstream of the BFP.
  • Michael_J
    Michael_J Member Posts: 4
    Options
    Backflow

JStar, that you very much for the reply. May I ask you to briefly explain what " closing thee water feed valve to the boiler upstream of the BFP means"?

Also, would it be necessary to have some sort of low water boiler cutoff in place to ensure that the boiler would shut down if it ever did spring a leak?

Again, appreciate your post. I'm getting a crash course in how these devices operate.
  • Michael_J
    Options