Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

What does

Tim McElwain
Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,633
KAIR stand for?

What does it mean to heating systems?

Does it really matter?

Comments

• Tim McElwain
    Have

fun!
  • HDE_2
    HDE_2 Member Posts: 140
    Because I'm an engineer

KAIR = Thermal conductivity of air

Density, viscosity, humidity, barometric pressure and many other factors affect this
  • bob_46
    bob_46 Member Posts: 813
    edited December 2013
    Thermal conductivity

is a lower case k, K stands for Kelvin . What context was it being used Tim ?

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• Weezbo
    Weezbo Member Posts: 6,232
    Thank you .

Tim ,

most of our new construction had a moratorium on new gas appliances for a while now due to Our gas company having some minor technicalities with providing for the existing customer base . That i offer as no excuse for not having sent some info along just an honest reason .

Our condensing boilers are mainly oil-fired . it just so happens though that it was lifted just for a brief window on some new work this year , and a young guy i'd like our community to have hang in here for them managed to get 4 new lines run in on one of the few places that were opened... he is very keen on a condensing product ..

our buildings here all get blowerdoor tests and we have a 6 * rating . the specs are quite high ...yet can be obtained with certain specific products and attention to detail.

thank you again for reminding us to catch up on this aspect .

*~//: )
  • Bob Harper
    Bob Harper Member Posts: 1,067
    KAIR method

Known Air Infiltration Rate for calculating MUA requirements. IRC G2407.5.2

Used only when ACH 0.40 or less. Otherwise, use Std. Method.
  • Tim McElwain
    Very good