Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Leaking steam lines in earth under concrete in living room

Options
Hi,

I think this is a nightmare i have been dreading for 25 years in this house.

I have at least two steam leaks in my living room in steam supply lines that are under a hardwood floor, laid on concrete. The pipes (supply and return) are buried about 6" in dirt below the concrete. So far two joints have been jack hammered up and both are leaking a lot.   There are lines supplying seven radiators under this concrete am beginning to suspect all the steam lines under this part of the house (no basement or crawl space) need replacing--but that would mean jack hammering trenches through concrete in half my house!

Is there any other answer?  I love steam heat, but it has been suggested by one of the steam guys that i get a Mitsubishi heat pump, and plug off all the steam lines to this part of the house!  Insurance would never pay for that!

Any and all help appreciated!

Comments

• JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    Options
    Steam

A real steam pro would never abandon a system like that. There is always an option. You could even keep some of the pipes exposed, and leave the old ones buried.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,387
    Options
    Or why lines should never be buried

directly -- particularly under a slab.  However, folks will do it...