Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler died, can HO tackle the install?

Options
racz
racz Member Posts: 1
First and foremost, I'm low on funds, keep that in mind and while I am complete novice to oil-fired boiler installs I am very handy with mechanical things, plumbing in general, just installed hot water heater with 0 issues (since the boiler also provided hot water for the house I needed something for showers) etc..

Looking at my ancient boiler from 1980's I know I could replicate what's there in about 3 days of hacking away at copper pipes, circ pumps, couple valves above it, some safety valves on the water supply, drain piping, that pressure tank to equalize pressures (closed water system), cold water supply etc... replicating is not the issue, it's what comes with a new boiler that I am unsure about.

Do they come with instructions? heck a diagram of how it should be plumbed per code (or some best-suggestion) would alone make me feel so much better about trying it.

I might have to rent the machine to work with steel pipes and make threads, I'm fine with that etc.. other than that it seems simple enough, electrical connections or thermostat wiring is a no brainer to me, that much I know I could handle.

What do the experts think?

Or should I suck it up and finance the boiler install?

Is home depot/lowes a decent option? I am sure there are horror stories, but it's not like it's a dude in orange vest doing it, but local contractor so I bet the quality differs from town to town (sort of like Maaco and paint jobs).

Comments

• russiand
    russiand Member Posts: 73
    Options
    Speaking from experience not a pro