Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

electrical question

paul_79
paul_79 Member Posts: 91
i have a question and can't get a definitive answer. i have a chiller with a 150amp circuit breaker back at the main panel. [ 3 phase 460 volt ] 1/0 wire to a fused disconnect then on to the chiller.

But i can't get an answer to the question why use a  fused disconnect not a regular disconnect.  i see no purpose for the fuses. if you have any electrical code or reason i would appreciate the answer. i will be changing the disconnects this week because of hot lugs and wires burning and would rather put in regular disconnects instead of the fused ones i have.

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Fused Disconnects:

I'm not an electrician.

That said, I would be wondering why you get so much heat at the fused disconnects. I think it might be a very good idea to remove them if they are tripping out. That way, you can use the length of the wire to act as a heat sink and maybe get rid of some of the excess heat between the panel and the load.

I've seen 30 amp water heater breakers used as disconnects at the heater, get so hot that if you spit on them, they would sizzle and they were drawing over 30 amps. When the load should have been less than 18 amps. And the breaker didn't trip in the panel.

I would prefer to have a fuse as close to the load as possible.

But I'n not an electrician. I just fix them when I can.
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    what kind of fuses?

Unless the breaker has an inverse time curve, those fuses might need to stay.  Regardless, the disconnect should not be overheating unless it was improperly sized in the first place, or there is something amiss in the utilization equipment.  Replacing it without first understanding the cause of the overheating is a very bad idea.