Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

1940's Steam System - Oil to Gas Conversion -- Thinking of Going to Forced Air

Options
EKDatDKE
EKDatDKE Member Posts: 14
Hi everyone,

I have watched the site for a long time, but it has been a while since I have posted. I am not a steam expert, but my wife and I love our steam heat, but with the oil prices we are going to finally switch over to natural gas from oil. We have a oil boiler that was an old coal fired system right now and we have are looking at one of two options.

1) We will switch from our our old oil steam boiler to a new natural gas steam boiler. Replace all the pipes with copper. Remove the old boiler. Run a gas line from outside the house (the house already has natural gas for the hot water heater). Cannon would be the brand for the new boiler replacement.

2) We will get a new forced air high eff system. We already have duct work in the house for the central A/C. We live in NJ so cold climate is a factor. We would also get a new A/C which is good because our system is from 1986! Here Goodman would be the system. We would have to get heat tape on the condensing pipe that would run into our basement to our sump. The attic is unconditioned.