Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

indirect

Options
STEAM DOCTOR
STEAM DOCTOR Member Posts: 1,973
Good afternoon. I have no experience with indirects and would benefit from some advice. I have a customer with large family who says that he runs out of hot water when too many people are showering at same time(he has 4 showers and has the problem when three or more shows are used at same time) Currently he has a 75 gallon storage type water heater and a hot water boiler(102 mbtuh). How would I size an indirect? Thanks.

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,569
    Options
    Details

What is heating the existing tank? Is the existing 102K boiler for his heat system? What type of boiler?  Any idea of the flow rate on the shower valves? What temp is the water entering the building (or what region are you in)?
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • STEAM DOCTOR
    Options
    details

1.existing tank is standard water heater(fire underneath).

2.existing boiler is only for heat.

3.cast iron hot water boiler.

4.no idea about flow rates.

5. don't know incoming water temp. located in NYC.

6. thanks
  • Paul48
    Paul48 Member Posts: 4,469
    Options
    A thought!

I currently feed a 50 gal gas hot water heater by way of a tankless coil in my boiler. My supply of hot water is virtually endless( 4 adults,3 teenagers).If a coil is available for their boiler, maybe an option.
  • bob eck
    bob eck Member Posts: 930
    Options
    Indirect