Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

CPVC vs pex

Jack
Jack Member Posts: 1,047
Have any of you used the CPVC water piping for domestic? Turns out I have a 6.2ph on my well, which precludes the use of my preferred choice of copper for the re-pipe of the house. The house is an old place with galvie...whats left of it. I just ran a new underground water supply from the well as well as conduit for underground service. I'll be replacing the old bathrooms once I get the permitting in place (my delay at this point, not theirs).

I had pressure drop problems with pex in the old house and don't like the idea of oversizing the tubing to overcome the bushing effect of the pex fittings, especially on the hot side. I've never used the CPVC for water before, but it looks like this may be the best option at this point. Any experience with the CPVC? I will look into water treatment as well. With the exception of the ph, the water is excellent.

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    edited December 2011
    Low PH:

Install a whole house Cuno UN200 2 Cu. Ft. Neutralizing filter. No moving parts and it back washes as it runs. It uses reverse flow. Add calcite media when the level gets below 24" from the top. I have one in my house and put them in any house I can that has a low PH. I assume you are using Poly Pipe from the pump, well and to the house tank. They are very reasonable in price and have no electrical connections or drains. You set the flow rate through the filter with a bypass valve.

Look into it. You will be satisfied. I've used "regular" ones and the backwash water was always a problem. It ends the green hair in the women and if you start to see blue/green in the showers and bathtubs, it's time to check the media and add more.

It has worked for me and my customers who need them and will pay.