Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Maxtrol without a line vent

Options
Maine Vent
Maine Vent Member Posts: 130
I Gas Pros, I hang out on the steam side mostly. I just got my new Weil Mclean SGO4 with a Riello gas burner installed about 1 month ago. I had a new boiler pro, not the installer, come by for a second opinion on some steam issues. He looked at my Maxtrol regulator and said this install is safety violation. It is installed in the vertical plane with no vent line. He was very concerned about this. I am new to Natural Gas, my installer is a licensed gas installer. What should I do about this vent limiter.

I am also getting ready to pipe up gas for a range, and a gas dryer. I'm now sure I don't want the boiler installer doing my appliance gas hookup.

I am wondering why the regulators need a vent in the vertical position and not the horizontal position?

One more question, Each appliance should have its regulator for the BTU output for that appliance correct?

Very happy with my gas system so far, but now very scared I am not safe.

Any advise is much appreciated.

Thank You.
Weil McLean SGO4, Riello Gas Burner
404 sq ft EDR
Old Burnham V8 Removal

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,433
    Options
    Is the regulator...

on its back "tower" facing straight up? that I thought was the only way you could use a vent limiter. Is this a 325 reg? Got a pict?
  • Maine Vent
    Options
    Maxtrol pics

It is a 325, as you can see in the pic. and it's mounted vertical. Not on it's back.

Thanks for the advice
    404 sq ft EDR
    Old Burnham V8 Removal
  • meplumber
    meplumber Member Posts: 678
    Options
    No.

NO. NO. NO.