Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pressuretrol won't shut off

JeremyN
JeremyN Member Posts: 15
We recently moved into a new house with steam heat.  I'm really new at all this but have been reading this site for the past few days and am getting to know some of the basics. 

As heating season has just started, we recently fired everything up for its first extended run.  As I went downstairs into the boiler room, I noticed that there was quite a bit of steam leaking from the #77 ventrite valve on the wet return line.  I shut down the boiler, but before doing so noticed that the pressure gauge was reading between 4-5 PSI.  I looked at the Pressuretrol and it was at its lowest setting.  I opened it up, and the differential was set to 2.  I backed this off to 1 and restarted things.  Even with the new setting, the system still reached over 4 PSI.  From the settings I would have expected it to cut out at 1.5.  I am able to manually trigger the cutout so it's at least working, but I'm wondering why it might not be responding correctly to the pressure rise.  It is mounted on a T off the same pigtail as the pressure gauge. 

Any thoughts on what might be the problem?  I actually went a step further tonight and completely disconnected the spring from the pressuretrol to make the cut in as low as possible.  Still hits 4+PSI without shutting off.  Could something be clogged or dirty?  Does the pressuretrol just need replacement?  If so, is it worth just going to a Vaporstat instead?