Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Supply and return wrong?

Nad12
Nad12 Member Posts: 4
Hello,

My daughter's house (2 years)has baseboard heat. I am not familiar with boilers and baseboard heat. I had to replace a broken pipe and purge the air out. There are three zones. 2 zones were no problem, but the last one has trapped air that I have not been able to remove.I studied the pipes and discovered that at least 4 of the baseboards are tapped off the supply on both sides (doesn't make sense to me, but I'm no expert) I'm guessing that this is wrong and the reason for trapped air.  Judging by the piping and soldering, this was a homeowners handiwork, as were many things in the house. If this is incorrect, could I cut the pipes on 1 side and route it into the return?

thanks

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Wrong?

Please send pictures. We love pictures here.
  • MrDucks
    MrDucks Member Posts: 27
    Mono Flo ?

Pics would be nice, Going to guess mono system
  • Nad12
    Supply and return wrong?

I won't be at my daughters for a few days to take pictures. I have sketched a diagram of how the main supply is feeding the baseboards. There are 3 zones and I know there are 3 supplies and 3 returns, but for these 4 baseboards they feed from the supply pipe on both ends.  If this was a monoflo system, wouldn't the supply feed in one end then return back back to the supply? I won't be back there for a few days. I plan to take down some more ceiling tiles in the basement to see waht I can discover. I willtake some pictures then.

Thanks
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,441
    That's a Mono Flo System that You've Drawn