Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Venting an old vacuum system

Options
I'm hoping someone can help me with this.

For background, I am in charge of a 7-story 100,000 SF building in Worcester, MA. Built in 1922, it was apparently a vapor vacuum system from the get go. The original boiler was converted to oil and went off line in 1986 when replaced with a 14 section HB Smith. I have been making incremental improvements for the last three years and the performance has been improving with each season. The condensate pump (which cannot maintain a vacuum), by the looks of it,  was replaced sometine in the 60's or early 70's (It's a Hoffman dual pump unit) and boiler feed tank was also installed (around the same time as the new boiler?).

Problem number one: if the system is not vented prior to the condensate pump then boiler water backs out and into feed tank on shut down. I have checked the equalizing line (3/4") from the pump to the steam header and it is not clogged. Is it too small? I am assuming the system goes into vacuum as the steam colapses, but what has me baffled is how the water is getting passed the check valves on the feed pumps; I've inspected them and they seem fine.