Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

overheated blower motor

Paul_69
Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
i am a contractor. my question is if you have a furnace blower motor that is exstremely hot and off on thermal and is not resetting because of excess heat would you wait for it to cool and try a capacitor replacement first or relace motor and capacitor.you have to gaurentee what work you do,so if the motor did reset and started up my fear is it may do the same thing and i am on the hook for this repair.i always thought that if it had a capacitor problem it would have starting problems and not cause motor to be smoking hot.  thanks

Comments

• lchmb
    lchmb Member Posts: 2,997
    edited October 2011
    I would

Depending on the age of the motor I would probably replace it to be safe. I would rather air on the side of caution than have an unhappy customer...As far as temp, it can over heat trying to start. So that could damage your start windings...You could ohm out the motor looking for inconsistancy, but I've been bit by that before..
  • Paul_69
    overheated blower motor