Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Two equalizers?

My near boiler piping is a mess and I had a professional here from the company that installed the mess and he agreed that it was a mess and that it has to be re-piped. One of the things he proposed was an additional equalizer although the existing equalizer is properly sized. I would have 2 equalizers and am wondering if that could cause the boiler to flood?

Thanks,

Xoph

Comments

• crash2009
    crash2009 Member Posts: 1,484
    edited March 2011
    Lets have a look

at this mess.  Can you post a picture?  Thanks for the picture.  I just wanted to give you a rough idea of what direction you need to go with this.  You likely want to get the boiler closer to your system risers.  The flow should look something like this.  I am not a pro but just an armchair enthusiast.  I will now explain my diagram.  The steam RED  GREEN comes out of the boiler at least 24" high, then turns right and goes toward the header.  Then it drops into the drop-header.  At the end of the drop-header it then goes down to the equalizer and back to the boiler.  The two wet returns BLUE YELLOW drop to the floor then go toward the Hartford, then up into the Hartford Loop, just below the waterline, then combine with the steam and water in the equalizer, and back into the boiler. 

Hope this helps you understand the direction you need to go. 

Also there are a whole bunch of technical rules you have to follow such as pipe size,type, and elevation.  Hopefully the boss of the company who installed it to begin with knows what to do. 
  • Crisscross
    Crisscross Member Posts: 14
    Images