Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

limestone substitute

Options
STEAM DOCTOR
STEAM DOCTOR Member Posts: 1,973
I have a customer who had a wall hung condensing boiler put in with no neutralizer and no condensation pump. I am trying to build a neutralizer from PVC and limestone . No one in my area has limestone in stock. What would be a good substitute for limestone(marble chips etc), I have very little to experience with these things.

P.S. This in not related to my post from a few weeks ago about my ionizing machine. I am still waiting to hear back from company.

Comments

• Robert O'Brien
    Robert O'Brien Member Posts: 3,541
    edited February 2011
    Options
    Home made

This has worked out pretty well using marble chips
    To learn more about this professional, click here to visit their ad in Find A Contractor.
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Options
    Neutralizers:

My wholesaler, Plumbers' Supply, has one complete unit, filled with limestone rocks sitting on the counter to be used in Vitodens, Lochinvars or Ultras. Seems like it would be less labor cost intensive to buy one of these and not deal with designing something on the shelf. And tracking down marble chips.

If you're interested in such a thing, let me know. I'll get the info on it.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,322
    Options
    Around my area, at least

most big box home stores carry marble chips for landscaping.  They'd probably work.  Agricultural lime is too fine.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • Brad White
    Brad White Member Posts: 2,398
    edited February 2011
    Options
    Limestone and Marble