Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

So terrible it seems to work...

Options
Trying to lend a hand with assessing our church rectory's steam system (I'm not a pro). It's seen its share of knuckleheads over the years, one of whom split the smallish (2") single main with a bullheaded T to service the two sides of the building. Total EDR is about 350. The system is eesentially a two-pipe with radiator vents system. Distribution problems you ask? Crazy brain-jangling water hammer? Nope. You see, there's also no main vents. I'm guessing <em>this</em> problem is preventing the other by keeping the flow sloooow.

So while I'd love to add fittings to be able to add the main vents (a relatively inexpensive option) should we expect that doing so will exacerbate the bullheaded main (a relatively EXPENSIVE fix)? Thoughts?

Thanks,

Patrick

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,283
    edited February 2011
    Options
    Why is it...

that churches seem to have the oddest systems (rhetorical question).

If I understand your description, you have steam coming into that T from the leg, and going out both ends of the crossbar?  That's not really a bullheaded T -- at least not what I mean by one (what I mean by one is steam coming in both sides of the crossbar and going out the leg).  If I am right, that T isn't going to cause any problems at all.