Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam noise on 2 pipe convector system

Options
Hi Everybody, I'm new to this site, but it looks awesome. I've heard much about Dan From school over the past many years because I am a plumber/pipe fitter.

I'm having an issue with a 2 pipe steam system that has convectors on it. I moved a convector on a 2nd floor room from 1 wall to another. I re-piped it from the basement and went up a different wall than the original. All the piping has good pitch and is taken right off the supply and return from the old piping location. I also kept the piping the same size as it was piped originally.

Soon after the homeowner complained of some banging noises going on in this room during the nighttime. I went to the house and realized that the supply valve wasn't open all the way. I opened it a full turn or so and haven't heard from them since. Now they are telling me that they hear a banging noise in the basement and 1st floor but not so much in the room where the convectors is.

I'm thinking about changing the steam trap and maybe the supply valve on the convector that I worked on. I'm assuming that the steam trap isn't working correctly and I'm getting steam in the condensate line. Is this a logical solution to this problem? Or is it something else within the system that is causing some grief? 

Any help on this would be great! I have done a lot more work on Hydronic Systems and 1 pipe steam systems, so I am new to this. 

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,323
    Options
    Can you listen to it yourself?