Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

"Normal" Heating Cycle times...

Options
So, I'm working my way through "We got steam heat" and I'm about halfway done. Let me disclose that I'm an engineer and like to know how everything works. And I'm trying to understand the heating cycle... perhaps my answers are in the part of the book I haven't gotten to or perhaps I need the "contractor" book to satisfy the engineer in me. At any rate, here's my question.

You size your boiler based on the EDR or output capacity of the entire radiation load... let's say for argument, you could measure everything perfectly, every radiator, every pipe,etc... Now let's say you can order your boiler in infinitely precise increments, so you could perfectly match the output BTUH to the entire load - no pickup factor, perfect measurements instead... just for argument. In this "ideal" situation, wouldn't there be only one cycle every call for heat? There would be a call for heat, the boiler would kick on, it would put out heat at exactly the same rate it could be output from the system, no pressure would ever build up and it would never hit the cut out pressure. The only thing that would end the heating cycle would be the thermostat. Under this non-realistic "ideal" condition, is my logic correct?

Obviously that's not reality.. instead you measure the radiators, multiply by the 1.33 piping pickup factor, and buy the next size boiler that your manufacturer of choice offers. So in reality, every boiler is slightly "oversized". There's really no such thing as perfect measurements, and hence no such thing as correctly sized, everything is slightly oversized if done correctly. So instead, the system turns off at the cut out pressure and back on at the cut in pressure if it's still not up to temp. Is my understanding of reality correct here?