Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

From softened water to raw water in a steam boiler

Options
Another water treatment question. I stopped putting softened water into the make up and piped in raw water to bring down the PH level. If our raw water runs about 25 grains hardness will there be any effect from doing this?

Comments

• fredy
    fredy Member Posts: 2
    Options
    boiler water

I’m no expert but when they installed my boiler and hydronic heat system in my home I want to put in distilled water rather than well water (hard water).  The installer said they would not warranty the system if distilled water was used because it was slightly acidic and would ruin the tubes.  I believe the distilled water PH is normally just below 6.  I offered to neutralize the distilled water but the plumber did not want to deal with the concept.  Ground water ph varies and has minerals in it that cause it to be “hard”.  Messing with the ph of the ground water may cause the minerals to form solid elements (salts) which can accumulate and if large enough quantity my collect in the system and cause a restriction(s) of flow.  Perhaps if you installed a fluid injector and only injected clean ph balanced water this may be an option.  
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,373
    edited January 2011
    Options
    The short answer is...

no.  Provided -- and this is important -- you have very little leakage and very little makeup water.  Very little being defined as whatever the boiler manual says is acceptable.

While there will be scale precipitation from the hard water, it will be minor, and should be taken care of with normal maintenance.