Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

laws on shutting off heat?

Options
jikini8
jikini8 Member Posts: 1
I have been using this one company for the 3 years I've lived in my home. I am on a budget plan. recently I apparently (about 5 months ago) missed a payment. I had no idea this happened and was not given a notice or warning of any kind. It is now January and it's freezing out and they put a hold on my account. I understand that it happened but I was not told that I missed that payment. If I was told I would have paid and there would be no issue. I'm extremely angry with these people for not letting me know or warning me that my heat would be cut off. I have a son who is almost 2 and I'm pregnant. I was told there was some law against shutting of heat when there is a young child in the home but I haven't seen anything like that. Is there any law? How can I handle this? I plan on paying the past due amount but I'm angry and just want some sort of closure I suppose. Am I wrong to feel that way?

Comments

• Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,621
    Options
    What fuel

do you heat with oil, propane or natural gas?

The best thing to do is call you local government office and ask for a ruling. Then I would try to reason with the provider to restore your fuel source. Different areas have different rules.

What is your location?
  • VictoriaEnergy
    VictoriaEnergy Member Posts: 126
    Options
    The other side of the fence

I used to work for the service dept of an oil company.

The oil company wants to sell you oil.