Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Frozen oil lines?

Marilyn_4
Marilyn_4 Member Posts: 26
I'm kinda new in the business.

What would I do if I got a no heat call and the oil lines are frozen?

Marilyn

Comments

• billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    outside tank

You should be treating the fuel if it is not Kero. If it is water problem and not cold oil gelling, then you may need to feed from the top of the tank until you can remove the water next thaw. Light heat and blow the line will do the trick to get it flowing again
  • Marilyn_4
    Frozen oil lines?

Do I need to heat the line before I blow the line? I'm always hesitant about blowing any line, unless everything is brand new or close enough ;>)

Or can I blow the line first and see if it moves the ice? How about push/pull with an ice melting ingredient?

I don't do night calls so this would be taken care of early or perhaps after hours of supply stores.

Thank you for your help,

Marilyn
  • Marilyn_4
    Frozen oil lines?

Do I need to heat the line before I blow the line? I'm always hesitant about blowing any line, unless everything is brand new or close enough ;>)

Or can I blow the line first and see if it moves the ice? How about push/pull with an ice melting ingredient?

I don't do night calls so this would be taken care of early or perhaps after hours of supply stores.

Thank you for your help,

Marilyn
  • billtwocase
    I would try to blow it first to determine

if it is in fact frozen, or just clogged. It it doesn't move, I heat them up a little, try to get some "HOT" in the tank and line, the blow and flush. All filters and nozzles should be replaced as well.  Good luck.
  • Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Oil tanks belong in the nice warm basement