Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Outdoor reset wind sensor?

Options
I have been working for several years implementing outdoor reset control on a 1950's hot water heating system for a 100 unit garden apartment complex. So far, it has been very successful in terms of reducing fuel useage and increasing resident comfort. The last remaining challenge is compensating for the effect of wind on indoor temperatures. Currently with no wind, temperatures of 72F-74F can be easily maintained in all apartments with outdoor temps ranging from 10F to 50F.

The problem arises when the winds start to blow. The complex is located in a location subject to high winds. Depending on apartment location, some rooms can drop 5 or 6 degrees in temp, and this being a co-op with older residents, the complaints cannot be easily ignored. The current solution is to have the super bump up the reset curve a few degrees when high winds are predicted, and it works fairly well. The downside is that if he forgets, the complaints start coming, and when he forgets to turn it down again during normal weather, everyone overheats.

Is there a wind sensor available to automate this process?  I am looking for a device that would detect wind speed over a certain velocity and give me a contact closure which could be used to shift the reset curve upward. Shifting the curve is fairly easy to do since the Tekmar controllers have a setback control input which is not currently being used, that could instead be set to provide the wind temperature compensation.

The preferred solution would be to install TRV's on some or all of the convectors, but with 600 plus convectors and a limited budget, this is not feasible at the present time.

Any other possible solutions that would not require TRV's?

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,376
    Options