Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pressure too High

Options
I'm very new to steam systems in general and just got Dan's "Lost Art" book. My Pressuretol is set as low as possible but the system reads that it is outputting between 3 and 5 psig, which I know is way to high for a residential 2 story single pipe with a dry return. I have 2 questions. First-  I have one pipe with a bad water hammer, I have replaced every air vent including the main, checked the pitch and added insulation all with no change, the water hammer is at the start of the cycle. Could the high pressure cause this? Also the boiler is short cycling because of the pressure and the water hammer only happens one the first cycle. Also this weekend I'll be adding another radiator, in the hopes of reducing the pressure (as well as adding some heat to a colder part of the home.) If that is not enough of a pressure drop my second question is, as I'm limited on floor space for any more radiators could I install open element base board ( say 10') under the floor between the rafters. My goal with that is really 2 fold one I believe it would warm up my basement a bit ( its gotten colder as I've insulated the steam pipes.) and 2 I'm hoping it would warm up the tile floor in the galley kitchen. Any thoughts would be really helpful. Thanks.

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    Options
    yet more pressuretrol problems!

that high pressure will prevent the vents from working properly at best, and at worst will make them into paperweights.

when you get a new pressure control [consider a vaporstat], hopefully every vent will work as it should, however you may still need more main venting.

the below floor heating can probably be done with a separate hot water loop from the boiler into pex tubing, and plates between the joists.