Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam return leak

pogy
pogy Member Posts: 4
I have an 83 year old 2 pipe steam heating system. Last night, I noticed a rusty puddle of water which appears to have come from an 1 1/2" elbow in the return system. There is about 30' of 1 1/2" pipe involved in this return system and I assume that there are other potential leaks in several places. I'm sure it needs to be replaced.

Since there is no appreciable pressure or heat involved in this section of the heating system, would PVC pipe of some sort be a practical replacement.

Comments

• Brian_74
    Brian_74 Member Posts: 237
    don't think so

I'm not a pro, but I believe the maximum service temp for PVC is 140°F. In theory at least, the water in the returns is close to 212°F, so I'm thinking this won't work.

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• pogy
    Thanks but

Thanks for the reply Brian. As stated in my original post, this is a two pipe steam system. The returning condensate is cool or cold by the time it reaches the basement since it returns in a separate line. That is why I was thinking that PVC would possibly be a viable material.
  • Brian_74
    I read that

I did read your post. I have a two pipe system myself. The traps on each radiator block the steam until it condenses. It's given up its latent heat to the room, but it can still be close to 212. It's not going to be under 140. But this is an empirical question that's easily solved. Why don't you measure the temp?

• Brian_74
    TLAOSH p. 142

I was curious, so I looked up what Dan says about traps. I might have misunderstood him, but on p. 142 of TLAOSH, it sounds to me like traps open around 180-200°, still too hot for PVC. And of course if a trap ever fails open, you'd have quite a PVC melted mess on your hands.

• pogy
    Thanks again Brian