Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

What's with the water in the bottom of my radiator? Yet Another Clanging/Hammering Scenario.

Options
Hi,

I've enjoyed and learned a lot from posts in this forum.  Thank you all for that.

I have a specific issue for which I can't seem to find a solution.  I'm

hoping the knowledgeable folks here can help me out.  I was a plumber

for three years shortly after graduating from college, but now work in

an office.  I've worked with a fair number of heating systems, so I know

a little about steam heat (but not enough).  Here is some background

information about the system.

I live in half of a rented house where the first two floors are heated

with steam radiators.  The top (third floor) has electric baseboard. 

The boiler for the one-pipe steam system is in the partially finished

basement (below the first floor).  My bedroom is on the second floor on

the opposite side of the the duplex as the boiler, which sits on the

outside wall.  I'd say the run across the basement is about 10 feet to

an elbow, then another 25 before the pipe that leads up the two floors

to my room.  Many of the feed pipes are two inches (i think), but the

feed pipe that leads to my bedroom's smaller radiator is an inch (or

close to it).  Here's a picture of a similar radiator:

<a href="http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f1/2006_400x700_one_pipe_steam_radiator.jpg">http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f1/2006_400x700_one_pipe_steam_radiator.jpg</a>

When the system kicks on, especially after sitting cold for a few hours,

the men with their hammers come out and bang the heck out of some of

the pipes.  Much of the system is fairly quiet, but the pipes leading to

my radiator make the most noise.  The sound starts in the basement and