Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Question on boiler pressure

Options
Joe V_2
Joe V_2 Member Posts: 234
My residential steam system seems to work very well but I have a question,

When boiler cuts off for either pressure or thermostat, the pressure drops like a rock.  From 6oz to 0 in about 5 seconds.  Is this normal?

Comments

• Chris M_2
    Chris M_2 Member Posts: 67
    Options
    Question on Boiler Pressure

Joe,

I'm not a professional, but I know 6 ounces is a dream pressure that most installers can't get a boiler to operate at.. It's usually between 1 and nearly 2 lbs that the typical steamer hits before cutting out.  It's hard for me to understand how going from 6 oz to 0 could be described as "drops like a rock".   6 oz is nearly 0, relatively speaking. That's just me, though.  I'm sure you'll get a flood of more professionally backed answers in a jiffy!
  • jpf321
    jpf321 Member Posts: 1,568
    Options
    not abnormal

the pressure drops pretty quickly .. mine probably takes a bit longer .. but I have a large volume boiler with a large steam chest, so that may make a considerable difference.

other Wallies may have different input, but I'm not surprised by your fast drop.

there was a discussion last spring about the time on vs. time off being important. I don't remember the ratio that was floated. Something like on for 3mins off for 1.5min seems to be my recollection. it may have something to do also with the size (oversized or undersized) of your boiler vs. the connected radiation.

it will also matter if your mains are well insulated and if they are all at steam temp.
    1-pipe Homeowner - Queens, NYC

NEW: SlantFin Intrepid TR-30 + Tankless + Riello 40-F5 @ 0.85gph | OLD: Fitzgibbons 402 boiler + Beckett "SR" Oil Gun @ 1.75gph