Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Source for Burnham Orifices

Big-Al_2
Big-Al_2 Member Posts: 263
I've been attempting to get my Burnham IN-6 boiler downfired about 10%.  In order to do that, I'd need to go from the #45 (pink) orifices to the #47 (white) ones, Burnham Part # 822710.  The local supply house will only sell to the local contractors.  One just came over with orifices for a totally different burner and said they would "probably" be OK.  They weren't even close to being correct, being about 3/8" too long, so I said, "no thanks."

Is there any online source where I can buy nine of these so I can install them myself?  I'm not a licensed heating pro . . . but I am an engineer . . . and a very meticulous worker . . . so I'm not going to screw things up.  I promise.

Comments

• Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,633
    Al you are messing

with something that should only be done by a professional gas technician,

The tech should be able to to do a combustion analysis when he finishes derating your boiler to insure efficiency, comfort but most of all that someone does not die from CARBON MONOXIDE poisoning

Why are you derating the boiler in the first place? If you are trying to save money that may not happen in the long run as boilers are designed to fire at maximum firing rate for maximum combustion efficiency. When you derate you lower that efficiency.

By the way to the best of my knowledge there is no place on-line to get the exact orifices you need. Call a pro so he can order them for you and install and do the job correctly.
  • Big-Al_2
    Big-Al_2 Member Posts: 263
    edited October 2010
    I did